Black & White Keys

I stopped in my tracks when I saw the empty space beneath the living room mirror. The piano was no longer standing upright next to the woodstove fireplace in the living room. I couldn’t ever imagine that space being emptied.

Since I was adopted that piano had been played by mom, my friends who knew how to play and me. Memories flowed into my mind like the sun rays gently touching the piano keys. Fingers flew across white and black keys as music filled the small house.

The new owner’s view was probably quite a different view on that space underneath the living room mirror. To the new owner, it may seem perfectly normal to have the space empty. I, on the other hand, I thought it was odd not to have the piano standing there.

Sunlight danced on the empty space as if to ask, where’s music? In the new home a new piano rest on wheels next to the fireplace. Sun rays from the right gently touch the plastic keys.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *